Norman Cherner (1920-1987) was an American designer and architect, who, like his compatriots Charles and Ray Eames and the Danish Arne Jacobsen, explored the many possibilities offered by the technique of bent plywood developed by the Finnish Alvar Aalto. Soon, Norman Cherner imagined prefabricated plywood houses and furniture exploiting this particularly economical technology compared to traditional woodworking. It was in 1950 that Norman Cherner found his aesthetic maturity in furniture design, creating these icon of twentieth century design that is the Cherner Chair.
 
Created in 1958 for the Plycraft company in Lawrence (Massachusetts), these two pieces of furniture became famous in 1961 thanks to a Norman Rockwell painting "The Artist at Work", which made the cover of the Saturday Evening Post. The owner of Plycraft claimed for a long time that he had designed them himself, producing them under his name until a court of justice condemned him to pay royalties to Norman Cherner in the early 1970s.
 
After the death of Norman Cherner in 1987, his two sons Benjamin and Thomas founded the Cherner Chair Company in 1999 to produce the furniture of their father, at that time only visible in antique shops, museums and private homes of some privileged collectors. It is Benjamin who drew the Cherner Table in 2004, to match the chair and the armchair.

Cherner Chair Company

 

online shop

decoration 
clearance & offers 
clothes, bags, acces. 
lighting 
furniture 
pro

Chaise de bureau Cherner
avec accoudoirs
Norman Cherner (1920-1987) est un architecte designer américain, qui, à l’instar de ses compatriotes Charles et Ray Eames et du danois Arne Jacobsen, explora les nombreuses possibilités offertes par la technique du contreplaqué courbé mise au point par le finlandais Alvar Aalto. Très vite, Norman Cherner imagina des maisons préfabriquées en contreplaqué et du mobilier exploitant cette technique particulièrement économique en comparaison de l’ébénisterie traditionnelle. C’est dans les années 1950 que Norman Cherner trouva sa maturité esthétique en matière de mobilier, réalisant notamment cette icône du design du XXème siècle qu'est la chaise Cherner.
Créés en 1958 pour l’entreprise Plycraft, à Lawrence (Massachusetts), ces deux pièces devinrent célèbres en 1961 grâce à un tableau de Norman Rockwell, "The Artist at Work", qui fit la une du Saturday Evening Post. Signalons pour l’anecdote que le propriétaire de Plycraft prétendit longtemps les avoir dessinées lui-même, les produisant sous son nom jusqu’à ce qu’un procès le condamne à verser des royalties à Norman Cherner, au début des années 1970.
Après la mort de Norman Cherner en 1987, ses deux fils Benjamin et Thomas fondèrent la Cherner Chair Company en 1999 pour rééditer les meubles de leur père, qu’on ne pouvait plus voir que chez les antiquaires, les musées et les salons de quelques collectionneurs privilégiés. C’est à Benjamin que l’on doit le dessin de la table Cherner, en 2004, coordonnée avec la chaise et le fauteuil.

Cherner Chair Company

 

boutique en ligne

mode 
décoration 
moins cher ailleurs ?
nous vous offrons le même prix -5%
 
> écrivez-nous
campagnes 
mobilier 
luminaires 
pro 
soldes