Hans J. Wegner
 
danish designer
 


Hans J. Wegner was born in 1914 in Tønder, Denmark, the son of a shoemaker. At the age of 17, he finished his apprenticeship as a cabinetmaker with H. F. Stahlberg, in whose workshops Wegner’s first design experiments took form. He moved to Copenhagen as a 20 year-old, and attended the School of Arts and Crafts from 1936 – 1938 before he began working as an architect.
 
As a young architect, Wegner joined Arne Jacobsen and Erik Møller in Århus, working on furniture design for the new Århus city hall in 1940. It was during the same year that Wegner began collaborating with master cabinetmaker, Johannes Hansen, who was a driving force in bringing new furniture design to the Danish public.
 
The Copenhagen Museum of Art and Industry acquired its first Wegner chair in 1942.
 
Wegner started his own design office in 1943. It was in 1944 that he designed the first “Chinese chair” in a series of new chairs that were inspired by portraits of Danish merchants sitting in Ming chairs. One of these chairs, the “Wishbone Chair”, designed in 1949 and produced by Carl Hansen & Son in Odense since 1950, became the most successful of all Wegner chairs.
 
Among Danish furniture designers, Hans J. Wegner is considered one of the most creative and productive. He has received practically every major recognition given to designers, including the Lunning prize, the grand prix of the Milan Triennale, Sweden’s Prince Eugen medal and the Danish Eckersberg medal. Wegner is an honorary Royal designer for industry of the Royal Society of Arts in London. Almost all of the world’s major design museums – from The Museum of Modern Art in New York to Die Neue Sammlung in Munich – include his furniture in their collections.
 
Hans J. Wegner died in Denmark in January, 2007.
 
Hans J. Wegner’s  contribution to Danish Modern:
 
First a cabinetmaker, then a designer: integrates exacting joinery techniques and exquisite form.
A deep respect for wood and its characteristics – and an abiding curiosity about other natural materials
Brings an organic, natural softness to formalistic minimalism
Generally regarded as ”the master of the chair”, with more than 400 chair designs to his name
decoration 
clearance 
fashion 
furniture 
campaigns 
furniture 
lighting 
pro

Hans J. Wegner
 
designer danois
 
   
 
Prolixe créateur de mobilier, Hans Wegner est un des pères fondateurs du design scandinave. Né en 1914 à Tønder, au Danemark, ce fils de cordonnier achève son apprentissage d'ébéniste à 17 ans avec H.F. Stahlberg, sous la houlette duquel il fait ses premières expériences formelles avec le bois, avant de partir à Copenhague à 20 ans pour suivre le cursus de l'école des Arts et Métiers de 1936 à 1938 qui lui permet de s'installer comme architecte.
 
C'est en tant qu'architecte que le jeune Hans J. Wegner rejoint Arne Jacobsen et Erik Møller à Århus. Avec eux, il travaille sur la conception de meubles pour la salle de réception du nouvel hôtel de ville de Århus, en 1940. Au cours de cette même année, Wegner commence à collaborer avec le maître ébéniste Johannes Hansen, qui par sa technique joua un rôle considérable dans le développement du mobilier danois. 
 
Hans J. Wegner créa son propre bureau d'études en 1943. En 1944, il conçut son premier "siège chinois"' en s'inspirant de portraits de marchands danois assis dans des chaises Ming. L'une de ces chaises, surnommée "Wishbone Chair" (CH24), conçue en 1949, connut un tel succès qu'elle est fabriquée sans discontinuité depuis 1950 par Carl Hansen & Son, à Odense.
 
Hans J. Wegner est considéré comme l'un des designers de meubles danois les plus créatifs et les plus productifs. Il a été récompensé par presque tous les prix de design existants, comme le prix Lunning, le Grand Prix de la Triennale de Milan, la médaille prince Eugen de Suède et la médaille d'Eckersberg danoise. Nombre de grands musées du monde lui rendent hommage, comme le Museum of Modern Art de New York et le Die Neue Sammlung de Munich, en présentant ses meubles dans leurs collections permanentes.
 
Hans J. Wegner est mort au Danemark en Janvier 2007.
 
S'il fallait résumer sa vie et son oeuvre et trois points, nous dirions :
 
- il fut ébéniste autant que designer et maîtrisait parfaitement les techniques de travail du bois
- il sut apporter une tendresse et une douceur naturelle au fonctionnalisme 
- il fut un maître de l'assise et créa plus de 400 chaises et fauteuils.
décoration 
offres spéciales 
vêtements, sacs, acces. 
luminaires 
mobilier 
pro 
moins cher ailleurs ?
nous vous offrons le même prix -5%
 
> écrivez-nous