Jacky Kennedy and Sarah Jessica Parker, famous Marimekko's fans.
Armi Ratia
The 2000's
The 1990's
The 1980's
The 1970's
The 1960's
The 1950's
marimekko story
 
(>> go to Marimekko webshop)
 


The 1950s
 
It was first Printex, a company producing oilcloth and printed fabrics, which bought Viljo Ratia in 1949. Armi Ratia, his wife, asked young artists to design patterns for the company. The result was a very innovative fabric collection, with bold and colorful patterns. As people looked up but did not buy, not knowing how to use them, Armi Ratia decided to give them ideas by creating a small collection of clothes. She founded a separate company - Marimekko Oy - and entrusted the implementation of the first clothing collection to Marimekko Riitta Immonen. The inaugural parade was held at Kalastajatorppa restaurant in Helsinki in May 1951.
 
> 1949: Maija Isola draws its first fabric Printex. It will continue to build until 1987 for Marimekko. Artist independent author of a work painted parallel Maija Isola revolutionized textile design. The pattern Unikko (poppy) of 1964 is his most famous creation.
 
> 1951: Marimekko is officially enrolled in the Finnish Trade Register, May 25
 
> 1952: Opening of first retail store.
 
> 1953 Marimekko Vuokko Nurmesniemi joined as a designer of clothing and fabrics. It will play an important role in defining the Marimekko style, both fashionable as interior decoration. She sees the striped fabric Piccolo in 1953 and 1956 Jokapoika shirt - both still in production.
 
> 1954 The Marimekko logo is designed by the artist Helge Meth-Borgström.
 
> 1956 exports begin. The tissues are exposed in the Finnish Pavilion at the Exposition Universelle in Brussels and a special exhibition in Stockholm Marimekko.
 

The 1960s
 
The 1960s saw the rapid development of Marimekko, which became famous in the world. The product range widens (up to and including the design of houses) and Marimekko is a way of life as a company. Towards the end of the decade, the company knows that financial difficulties are resolved after a major restructuring between 1968 and 1971.
 
> 1960 Internationalization of Marimekko is accelerated by Jacqueline Kennedy, who bought seven dresses Marimekko cotton once and the door during the presidential campaign of her husband. With it, a Marimekko ranks of some 400 newspapers and magazines.
 
> 1960 Marimekko opens its first retail store abroad, in Stockholm.
 
> 1960 Annika Rimal begins his work as a fashion designer Marimekko. His clothes are always innovative on the covers and pages of fashion magazines worldwide. In 1968, Rimal Tasaraita designs the collection, which is still in production. Annika Rimal work for Marimekko until 1982.
 
> 1960 Liisa Suvanto introduced a new look in fashion with her clothes Marimekko wool knitted by hand. Marimekko Suvanto works until 1975, and in the 1970s, also designs clothing printed cotton. Many fabrics are created by Japanese designer Katsuji Wakisaka, who worked for Marimekko in 1968-1976 and 2001.
 
> Kristina Isola in 1964 began working as a designer with her mother Maija Isola. It continues today to create fabrics and interior decorating products for Marimekko, while being responsible for creating new colors and new variants of Maija Isola patterns.
 
> 1968 Marimekko signed its first licensing agreement in Finland.
 
> 1969 Pentti Rinta joined Marimekko as a stylist. It will work with the company until 1987. In 1972, the first costume designs Rinta men Marimekko; Kuski model has become a classic.
 
The 1970s
 
In the 1970s, the production tool Marimekko is modernized and expanded. The licenses are increasing rapidly. The company is publicly traded.
 
> 1970 A Marimekko factory is created for the production of bags and small objects in canvas. Ristomatti Ratia is the chief designer. Many of her bags have become classics of world famous and are still in production.
 
> 1972 First signed licensing agreements in Japan and the United States.
 
> Marimekko 1973/1979 A new plant is built in the neighborhood Herttoniemi in Helsinki.
 
> 1974 A clothing factory devoted to Marimekko is built Kitee in eastern Finland.
 
> 1974 Opening a store Marimekko Pohjoisesplanadi 31, Helsinki's main avenue. The shop is still at this address.
 
> 1974 Marimekko is listed on the Helsinki Stock Exchange.
 
> 1974 Fujiwo Ishimoto began designing printed fabrics for Marimekko. Its production includes surprisingly large over 300 fabric patterns.
 
> 1979 Marja Suna joined Marimekko as a fashion designer. She created the first collection of Marimekko fabrics. Along with its popular knitwear, Marja Suna many other designs clothing, from coats to T-shirts during his twenty-five years of collaboration with Marimekko.
 
> 1979 deaths Friend Ratia - founder, director and thinking soul of Marimekko, Oct. 3.
 

The 1980s
 
Armi Ratia's death gives birth to over a decade of uncertainty and upheaval for Marimekko. In the early 1980s, the company's business is still flourishing. In 1985, Marimekko is sold to Amer Group Ltd.. At the end of the decade, Marimekko is on the verge of bankruptcy. The public image of the Marimekko brand has become blurred.
 
> 1983 The plant expansion is completed Herttoniemi and all operations of Marimekko in Helsinki are moved to new premises.
 
> 1985 Amer Group Ltd. buys Marimekko, whose shares are removed from the Helsinki Stock Exchange.
 
The 1990s
 
Marimekko begins to bloom again in the 1990s after being bought by by Kirsti Paakkanen. Thanks to her, Marimekko found a charismatic figure and visionary worthy successor to Friend Ratia. The company is entering a period of strong growth and profitable. Innovation, creation and design find a central place and new product lines are emerging. New designers are hired, bringing youth and talent, as Erja Hirvi Jaana Parkkila, Mika Piirainen Jukka Rintala and Marjaana Virta.
 
> 1991 Kirsti Paakkanen buys Marimekko September 27.
 
> 1999 Marimekko amounts to the Helsinki Stock Exchange.
 

The 2000s
 
The 2000s are Marimekko for a new golden age. The company's position on international markets is increasing significantly with the opening of new Marimekko concept stores. Several exhibitions are organized Marimekko worldwide, contributing to increased exports and the Marimekko brand recognition. The production is modernized, the wider product range. New talent join the company regularly, like Anna Danielsson, Samu-Jussi Koski, Maija Louekari and Teresa Moorhouse. Big names in global design as Björn Dahlström, Harri Koskinen and Ilkka Suppanen perform numerous collaborations with Marimekko during the decade.
 
 
> 2002 Marimekko shares were transferred to the main market of the Helsinki Stock Exchange.
 
> 2004 A digital printing machine and new digital devices are added to the plant Herttoniemi to modernize the printing of fabrics.
 
> 2006 Marimekko organizing a design competition aimed at finding new ideas for the line of Marimekko interior. The winners are called Iiro A. Ahokas, Anna Ervamaa, Pia Holm, Kaakinen Tuula Elina Keltto, Aino-Maija Metsola, Jenni Katriina Tuominen and Viitaniemi. Their creations have been included in the Marimekko collections of clothing and interior decoration.
furniture 
decoration 
campaigns
clearance
fashion 
lighting 
pro 
enjoy summer with 15% off on all Marimekko!

Jacky Kennedy et Sarah Jessica Parker, célèbres ambassadrices Marimekko.
"Marimekko a d'abord été un tissu imprimé, car c'est la possibilité qui était à portée de la main. L'idée aurait très bien pu se matérialiser sous forme de musique, de poème, d'architecture, pourquoi pas d'un pain nouveau, de textile, de meubles, de céramique, de verre, de bijoux, de voitures, de boutique de fleuriste, de glace à la crème ou de jouets... Il est bon de savoir cela, et de le garder à l'esprit quand on pense au Marimekko de l'avenir, et du présent".
 
Armi Ratia, 1978.
Armi Ratia, fondatrice de Marimekko
Marimekko, les années 2000
Marimekko, les années 1990
Marimekko, les années 1980
Marimekko, les années 1970
Marimekko, les années 1960
Marimekko, les années 1950
Marimekko
   en quelques dates
 

Les années 1950
 
Ce fut d'abord Printex, une entreprise produisant des toiles cirées et des tissus imprimés, que Viljo Ratia acheta en 1949. Armi Ratia, sa femme, demanda à de jeunes artistes de concevoir des motifs pour l'entreprise. Le résultat fut une collection de tissus très novatrice, aux motifs audacieux et colorés. Comme les gens les admiraient mais ne les achetaient pas, ne sachant comment les utiliser, Armi Ratia décida de leur donner des idées en créant une petite collection de vêtements. Elle fonda une société séparée - Marimekko Oy - et confia la réalisation de la première collection de vêtements Marimekko à Riitta Immonen. Le défilé inaugural eut lieu au restaurant Kalastajatorppa, à Helsinki, en mai 1951.
 
> 1949 : Maija Isola dessine son premier tissu Printex. Elle continuera à créer pour Marimekko jusqu'en 1987. Artiste indépendante auteur d'une oeuvre peinte parallèle, Maija Isola révolutionna la création textile. Le motif Unikko (coquelicot) de 1964 est sa création la plus célèbre.
 
> 1951 : Marimekko est officiellement inscrit au Registre du Commerce Finlandais, le 25 mai.
 
> 1952 : Ouverture du premier magasin de détail.
 
> 1953 Vuokko Nurmesniemi rejoint Marimekko en tant que designer de vêtements et de tissus. Elle jouera un rôle important dans la définition du style Marimekko, tant pour la mode que pour la décoration intérieure. Elle conçoit le tissu rayé Piccolo en 1953 et la chemise Jokapoika en 1956 - tous deux encore en production.
 
> 1954 Le logo de Marimekko est conçu par l'artiste Helge Mether-Borgström.
 
> 1956 Les exportations commencent. Les tissus sont exposés dans le pavillon finlandais à l'Exposition Universelle de Bruxelles et dans une exposition spéciale Marimekko à Stockholm.
 

Les années 1960
 
Les années 1960 voient le développement rapide de Marimekko, qui devient célèbre dans le monde entier. La gamme de produits s'élargie (allant jusqu'à inclure la conception de maisons) et Marimekko devient un mode de vie autant qu'une entreprise. Vers la fin de la décennie, la société connait des difficultés financières qui sont résolues suite à une vaste restructuration entre 1968 et 1971.
 
> 1960 L'internationalisation de Marimekko est accéléré par Jacqueline Kennedy, qui achète sept robes Marimekko en coton en une seule fois et les porte pendant la campagne présidentielle de son mari. Grâce à elle, Marimekko occupe la Une de quelque 400 journaux et magazines.
 
> 1960 Marimekko ouvre son premier magasin de détail à l'étranger, à Stockholm.
 
> 1960 Annika Rimala commence son travail en tant que designer de mode à Marimekko. Ses vêtements novateurs figurent constamment sur les couvertures et les pages des magazines de mode du monde entier. En 1968, Rimala conçoit la collection Tasaraita, qui est toujours en production. Annika Rimala travaillera pour Marimekko jusqu'en 1982.
 
> 1960 Liisa Suvanto introduit un nouveau look à la mode avec ses vêtements Marimekko en laine tricoté à la main. Suvanto travaille à Marimekko jusqu'en 1975 et, dans les années 1970, conçoit également des vêtements en coton imprimé. De nombreux tissus sont créés par le designer japonais Katsuji Wakisaka, qui travailla pour Marimekko en 1968-1976 et 2001.
 
> 1964 Kristina Isola commence à travailler comme designer avec sa mère, Maija Isola. Elle continue aujourd'hui à créer des tissus imprimés et des produits de décoration intérieure pour Marimekko, tout en étant responsable de la création de nouveaux coloris et de nouvelles variantes des motifs de Maija Isola.
 
> 1968 Marimekko signe son premier contrat de licence en Finlande.
 
> 1969 Pentti Rinta rejoint Marimekko en tant que styliste. Il travaillera avec la société jusqu'en 1987. En 1972, Rinta conçoit les premiers costumes hommes Marimekko ; le modèle Kuski est devenu un classique.
 
Les années 1970
 
Dans les années 1970, l'outil de production de Marimekko est modernisé et agrandi. Les licences augmentent rapidement. La société est cotée en bourse.
 
> 1970 Une usine Marimekko est crée pour la production de sacs et de petits objets en toile. Ristomatti Ratia est le designer en chef. Nombre de ses sacs sont devenus des classiques de renommée mondiale et sont encore en production.
 
> 1972 Premiers accords de licence signés au Japon et aux États-Unis.
 
> 1973/1979 Une nouvelle usine Marimekko est construite dans le quartier Herttoniemi, à Helsinki.
 
> 1974 Une usine consacrée aux vêtements Marimekko est construite à Kitee, dans l'Est de la Finlande.
 
> 1974 Ouverture d'un grand magasin Marimekko au 31 Pohjoisesplanadi, la principale avenue d'Helsinki. La boutique est toujours à cette adresse.
 
> 1974 Marimekko est cotée à la Bourse d'Helsinki.
 
> 1974 Fujiwo Ishimoto commence à concevoir les tissus imprimés pour Marimekko. Sa production étonnamment large inclut aujourd'hui plus de 300 modèles de tissus.
 
> 1979 Marja Suna rejoint Marimekko comme designer de mode. Elle crée la première collection de tricots Marimekko. Parallèlement à ses populaires vêtements tricotés, Marja Suna conçoit quantité d'autres vêtements, depuis les manteaux aux T-shirts au cours de ses vingt-cinq ans de collaboration avec Marimekko.
 
> 1979 Décès d'Ami Ratia - fondatrice, directrice et âme pensante de Marimekko, le 3 Octobre.
 

Les années 1980
 
La mort d'Armi Ratia donne naissance à plus d'une décennie d'incertitude et de bouleversements pour Marimekko. Au début des années 1980, les affaires de l'entreprise sont encore florissante. En 1985, Marimekko est vendu à Amer Group Ltd. A la fin de la décennie, Marimekko est au bord du dépôt de bilan. L'image publique de la marque Marimekko est devenue floue.
 
> 1983 L'extension de l'usine Herttoniemi est achevée et l'ensemble des opérations de Marimekko à Helsinki sont déplacés vers les nouveaux locaux.
 
> 1985 Amer Group Ltd achète Marimekko, dont les actions sont retirés de la Bourse d'Helsinki.
 
Les années 1990
 
Marimekko commence à refleurir dans les années 1990 après avoir été racheté par par Kirsti Paakkanen. Grâce à elle, Marimekko retrouve une figure charismatique et visionnaire, digne successeur d'Ami Ratia.  La société entre dans une période de croissance forte et rentable. L'innovation, la création et le design retrouvent une place centrale et de nouvelles lignes de produits voient le jour. De nouveaux designers sont recrutés, apportant jeunesse et talent, comme Erja Hirvi, Jaana Parkkila, Mika Piirainen, Jukka Rintala et Marjaana Virta.
 
> 1991 Kirsti Paakkanen rachète Marimekko le 27 Septembre.
 
> 1999 Marimekko revient à la bourse d'Helsinki.
 

Les années 2000
 
Les années 2000 sont pour Marimekko un nouvel âge d'or. La position de l'entreprise sur les marchés internationaux se renforce sensiblement grâce à l'ouverture de nombreux concept stores Marimekko. Plusieurs expositions Marimekko sont organisées à travers le monde, contribuant à l'augmentation des exportations et à la reconnaissance de la marque Marimekko. La production est modernisée, la gamme de produits élargie. De nouveaux jeunes talents rejoignent régulièrement l'entreprise, comme Anna Danielsson, Samu-Jussi Koski, Maija Louekari et Teresa Moorhouse. De grands noms du design mondial comme Björn Dahlström, Harri Koskinen et Ilkka Suppanen réalisent de nombreuses collaborations avec Marimekko au cours de la décennie.
 
> 2002 Les actions Marimekko sont transférées au marché principal de la Bourse d'Helsinki.
 
> 2004 Une machine d'impression numérique et de nouveaux équipements digitaux sont adjoints à l'usine Herttoniemi pour moderniser l'impression des tissus.
 
> 2006 Marimekko organise un concours de design qui vise à trouver des idées nouvelles pour la ligne de décoration intérieure Marimekko. Les lauréats s'appellent Iiro A. Ahokas, Anna Ervamaa, Pia Holm, Tuula Kaakinen, Elina Keltto, Aino-Maija Metsola, Jenni Tuominen et Katriina Viitaniemi. Leurs créations ont été incluses dans les collections Marimekko de vêtement et de décoration intérieure.
décoration 
offres spéciales 
vêtements, sacs, acces. 
luminaires 
mobilier 
pro 
moins cher ailleurs ?
nous vous offrons le même prix -5%
 
> écrivez-nous
  -16% sur tout Marimekko !