Tripode lamp, 1954

Serge Mouille table lamps

Ceiling lamp two still arms, 1959

Ceiling lamp three rotating arms, 1958

Serge Mouille ceiling lamps

Standing lamp three rotating arms, 1952

Standing lamp one arm, 1953

Serge Mouille floor lamps

Wall lamp 3 rotating arms, 1954

Wall lamp 2 rotating arms, one curved, 1954

Wall lamp 2 rotating straight arms, 1954

Wall lamp 1 rotating curved arm, 1954

Wall lamp 1 rotating straight arm, 1954

Sconce one arm two rotulas, 1958

Serge Mouille wall lamps

Before creating his famous lightings, Serge Mouille (1922-1988) was a precocious and gifted child, who integrated the School of Applied Arts of Paris when he was only 13 years old. With the help of his master Gabriel Lacroix, he discovered the metalwork with a hammer and began a goldsmith career to Hénin and Cie. After the war, he worked as Applied Arts teacher and independent craftsman for various Parisian goldsmith houses.
 
The creator career of Serge Mouille began in 1951 as he met Jacques Adnet, from who the Danish editor Gubi reissue several works now. Adnet was the director of the French Arts Company and asked to Serge Mouille to create 'big lightings' for his South-American customers. Serge Mouille imagined then the famous Standing lamp 3 arms and Standing lamp one arm. That was the beginning of the « Formes Noires » collection to which he owes his worldwide reputation.
 
The critical acclaim and business success came in 1956, thanks to the gallery of Steph Simon, boulevard Saint Germain, who exposed Serge Mouille lightings with the works of Jean Prouvé, Charlotte Perriand, Isamu Noguchi and other leading figures of this functional integration movement for inside layout.
 
Serge Mouille, willing to use the new possibilities proposed by the neon-light, created in 1962 the “Colonnes Lumineuses” collection, which provocated misunderstanding and didn't really sell. Disappointed, he stopped his lighting production in 1963 and decided to only teach.
 
The Serge Mouille Editions (ESM) are the result of the meeting of his widow, Gin Mouille, and Claude Delpiroux in 1999. Located near Monthiers, in the south of Aisne, where Serge Mouille had his workshop, Serge Mouille Editions resumed the manufacturing of these lightings with the same forms, colours, dimensions and handmade manufacturing process. In fact, Serge Mouille always refused the industrial manufacturing in order to keep the particular aspect of the handmade hammering that he learnt with Gabriel Lacroix.
 
The ESM collection gathers 35 products – floor lamps, wall lamps, ceiling lamps or table lamps -, available in black or white. Each product is handmade, numbered and accompanied by an authencity certificate. In cases of doubt, don't hesitate to consult ESM to authenticate your product.
 
All the models of Serge Mouille's lamps are available in black or in white and some on special request. Delivery time +/-8 weeks.

Editions Serge Mouille

 

Wall lamps, Floor lamps, Ceiling lamps, Table lamps

decoration 
campaigns 
fashion 
cheaper elsewhere?
we offer you
the same price
-5%
 
> email us
furniture 
furniture 
lighting 
pro 
sale

Lampe Tripode, 1954

Lampes de table Serge Mouille

Plafonnier deux bras fixes, 1959

Plafonnier trois bras pivotant, 1958

Plafonniers Serge Mouille

Lampadaire trois bras pivotants, 1952

Lampadaire droit, 1953

Lampadaires Serge Mouille

Applique trois bras pivotants, 1954

Applique deux bras pivotants dont un courbe, 1954

Applique deux bras droit pivotants, 1954

Applique un bras courbe pivotant, 1954

Applique un bras droit pivotant, 1954

Applique un bras double rotule, 1958

Appliques Serge Mouille

Avant de créer ses célèbres luminaires, Serge Mouille (1922-1988) fut un enfant précoce et surdoué qui intégra l'école des Arts Appliqués à Paris à 13 ans seulement. Il s'y initia au travail du métal au marteau sous la férule de son maître Gabriel Lacroix et entame dans la foulée une carrière d'orfèvre chez Hénin et Cie. Après guerre, il couplera les métiers d'enseignant aux Arts Appliqués et d'artisan indépendant pour diverses maisons d'orfèvrerie parisiennes.
 
La carrière de créateur de Serge Mouille naît en 1951 de sa rencontre avec Jacques Adnet (dont le fabriquant danois Gubi réédite aujourd'hui plusieurs oeuvres), alors directeur de la Compagnie des Arts Français, qui lui demande de créer un "grand luminaire" pour ses clients d'Amérique du Sud. Serge Mouille imagine alors les désormais célèbres lampadaire à trois bras et lampadaire droit, qui inaugurent la série des Formes Noires à laquelle il doit aujourd'hui sa réputation mondiale.
 
La reconnaissance critique et le succès commercial viennent en 1956, grâce à la galerie de Steph Simon, boulevard Saint Germain, qui expose les luminaires de Serge Mouille en compagnie des oeuvres de Jean Prouvé, Charlotte Perriand, Isamu Noguchi et quelques autres figures marquantes du mouvement de l’intégration fonctionnelle pour l’aménagement intérieur.
 
Désireux d'exploiter les nouvelles possibilités formelles offertes par le néon, qui vient juste d'apparaître, Serge Mouille crée en 1962 la série des Colonnes lumineuses, qui provoque l'incompréhension et se vend mal. Déçu, il arrête sa production de luminaires en 1963 et se consacre entièrement à l'enseignement.
 
Les Éditions Serge Mouille (ESM) sont nées de la rencontre de sa veuve, Gin Mouille, et de  Claude Delpiroux, en 1999. Installées tout près du village de Monthiers, dans le sud de l’Aisne, où Serge Mouille avait son atelier, les Editions Serge Mouille ont repris la fabrication de ses luminaires en respectant autant leurs formes, couleurs et dimensions que leur procédé de fabrication artisanal, Serge Mouille ayant toujours refusé d'opter pour la production industrielle afin de conserver à ses lampes l'aspect particulier du martelage à la main, qu'il avait appris à l'aube de son adolescence en compagnie de Gabriel Lacroix. 
 
La collection de ESM comporte aujourd'hui 35 modèles, répartis en lampadaires, appliques murales, plafonniers et lampes de bureau, déclinés en noir et en blanc. Chaque modèle est fait à la main, numéroté et accompagné d'un certificat d’authenticité. En cas de doute sur l'authenticité d'une pièce, n'hésitez pas à consulter ESM pour l'authentifier.

Éditions Serge Mouille

 

Appliques, Plafonniers, Lampadaires, Lampes de table

décoration 
campagnes 
mode 
moins cher ailleurs ?
nous vous offrons le même prix -5%
 
> écrivez-nous
mobilier 
 
luminaires 
pro 
soldes